Citrus basmati rice

Posted: December 16, 2012 in lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes
Tags: ,

I picked up a new cookbook, which I need like I need a seventh ear.  I was browsing/Christmas shopping for the folks, looking through the cookbooks (which my folks need like a twenty-eighth ear), and I found one I could not resist:  Meat-Free Monday Cookbook by the McCartneys.  It’s a lacto-ovo vegetarian recipe, intended for meat-eaters.  What I like a lot about it is that it’s organized by seasons, so makes the most of what’s in season.  Love that.  It feels like a British cookbook, too…and by that I mean there’s quite a bit of hearty rootstock stuff, but taking much more from Asia than the Americas.  I would expect Indian flavorings, and there’s not much from Central America.  This is good, and interesting.  I don’t have a cookbook quite like it.  So far, I’ve gone through the Winter section, and I’ve used up an entire container of little sticky notes to tag pages with recipes I’d like to try.

On a second go-through, I looked today for ridiculously simple dishes that would be okay cold to pack for a lunch.  My new job has me living out of my car.  This is fine but I have no microwave, and I end up getting high-fat expensive eat-out stuff.  I’ve gained ten pounds in the past six weeks…it’s horrible.  Granted, citrus rice is not going to sound as good as stopping at a Village Inn for a garden skillet, but I need to train myself to eat cold lunches.  I may have eaten peanut butter and jelly sandwiches every single day for lunch when I was a child, but I can’t do it now.

This cookbook also has the advantage that it has specific recipes for packed lunches.  Way cool.  It calls this a side dish, and it is….but it’s interesting and snacky and low on the calories, high on the protein and vitamin C….all good things.

source:  The Meat Free Monday Cookbook by Paul, Stella, and Mary McCartneycitrus rice

lacto-vegetarian, gluten –

  • 1 1/2 c basmati rice
  • juice and zest of 1 lime
  • juice and zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped cilantro
  • 1/3 cup yogurt

Cook the rice “according to box instructions.”  Mix everything else together, serve warm.

A couple of notes on this…I love brown rice.  I realize that people unused to it prefer white rice, but I think this dish would be heartier and richer with brown rice, add more nutrients and add a nutty-like flavor that would be welcome in this dish.  I buy basmati for cheap at Indian grocery stores….I pour the rice into the pan, and fill with water until my finger touches the top of the rice, and the water covers the first digit of my finger.  I learned that from May Goh’s mom and have made perfect white rice ever since.  You could make this vegan by removing the yogurt…it adds some texture, but the dish wouldn’t suffer without it.  I let the rice cool to see if I like it cold, and it’s just fine as a cold snack.

Nothin fancy, but nice.  Wonder if the brown rice would be enhanced with orange instead of lime.  Worth experimenting.

Leave a Reply

