Vegan bangers: Seitan Italian sausage

Posted: November 24, 2012 in vegan recipes
Tags: , ,

I love to cook things from around the world.  I have tried very litter, er, cuisine, from the UK.  There’s that haggis factor and all…  Mark wanted to make cashew gravy and mashed potatoes.  Everybody likes us to bring that to Thanksgiving every year.  Meat eaters don’t do mashed potatoes without the meat, I don’t think.  I found this recipe in Moskowitz’s fabulous book, and bam!  Bangers and mash it is.

I have not yet spent any time in the UK (Heathrow airport layovers do not count….I used the ATM just so I could get pounds out once.), so I have no idea if this is even remotely British food.  I do know that seitan is good, though.  I have no idea if the meat-eating part of the family will even be brave enough to try it.

Meat eaters.  Too many culinary cowards among them.  Every one that has tried my homemade seitan loves it.  So, here we go.

source:  Vegan Brunch by Moskowitz

vegan, gluten ++++

  • 1/2 cu cooked navy beans, rinsed and drained (I used black beans)
  • 1 c veggie broth
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely minced
  • 1 1/4 c vital wheat gluten
  • 1/4 c nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp fennel seeds, crushed
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • several dashes fresh black pepper

Before mixing ingredients, get your steaming apparatus ready and bring water to a full boil.  The rest of the recipe comes together very quickly.  Have ready four sheets of tinfoil.  In a large bowl, mash the beans until no whole ones are left.  Throw all the other ingredients together in the order listed and mix with a fork.  Divide dough in four even parts.  Place one part of the dough into tinfoil and mold into about a 5 inch log.  Wrap dough in tin foil like a tootsie roll.  Don’t worry about shaping it; it will snap into shape while it’s steaming because this recipe is awesome.

Place wrapped sausages in steamer and steam for 40 minutes.  That’s it! You can unwrap and enjoy immediately or refrigerate until ready to use.  I like them sliced and sauteed in olive oil for a few minutes, or grilled whole then sliced.

I think what I’d like to do with these tomorrow is slice them into ovals and lightly fry them in olive oil.  These are GREAT, by the way.  Spicy, and tasty.

Comments
  1. Bex says:

    Yummeh! I’m thinking crumble and make lasagna…

Leave a Reply

