Cranberry Orange Nut Muffins

Posted: November 24, 2012 in vegan recipes
Tags: ,

Mark’s family used to own cranberry marshes in Wisconsin.  Cranberries were something I grew up having at Thanksgiving, but I felt pretty indifferent about them.  I wanted to find a recipe that I could make that would showcase them.  My mother makes these wonderful orange marmelade muffins for the holidays, and so when I came across this recipe I knew this was the one I wanted to make.  A muffin that means both sides of my family.  And it’s vegan.  Bonus.

They’re still baking, but I can tell you that I could positively bathe in this batter, it’s so insanely good.  It’s supposed to make 12 muffins….with the medium muffin tin size I’m using, it’ll make about 15….perfect to take the dozen best and put them out for Thanksgiving tomorrow.  (And one for me today.  :D)

source:  Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

vegan, gluten +

  • 2 c all purpose flour
  • 2/3 c sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c fresh orange juice
  • 1/2 c canola oil
  • 2 tbsp orange zest (at least two decent sized oranges to do this)
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1 1/2 c fresh cranberries, chopped (save the bother and use an electric chopper)
  • 1 c chopped pecans or walnuts (I went with pecans, put em in a bag and banged on em with a wooden spoon)

Preheat oven to 375.  Lightly grease muffin tin.

In a large mixing bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Make a well in the center and add orange juice, oil, zest and extracts.  Mix well until all ingredients moistened.  About halfway through the mixing, add the nuts and berries.

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full and bake for 23 to 27 minutes, until muffins lightly browned on top and toothpick comes out clean.  When cool enough to handle, transfer to cooling rack to cool completely.

These are incredibly tasty.  They didn’t rise very much, and the edges are crispy (and three blackened), and the insides are still moist.  I find this happens occasionally when I do vegan breads, and I’m not entirely sure why.  Maybe it’s an oil vs. butter thing…. They’re delicious, and I’m still happy to serve them.  I’ll make them again, too.  The TASTE is amazing…the citrus orange with the tart berries and nuts really dance in your mouth.  They’re great.  It doesn’t need/want butter or anything.  Sweet/tart/crunchy. 

Leave a Reply

