Thanksgiving brunch menu

Posted: November 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

We’re hosting this year.  I’m not entirely sure how that happened, but that’s what happened.  Part of the family is out of the state for Thanksgiving proper, which means that I can still happily watch my Star Trek movie marathon, I just have to cook and clean through it.  Mark is cleaning, too.  Which is fabulous.

Just got back from the grocery store after having spent the morning figuring out the menu.   Here’s the idea:

Broccoli, Tomato and Emmentaler Quiche

Carmelized Onion Quiche

Homemade granola with Fresh Fruit and Greek Yogurt “Bar”

Cranberry Orange Muffins

Spinach, Goat Cheese and Walnut Phyllo Pastry

Mashed Potatoes and Italian Seitan “Sausage” with Cashew Gravy

Pumpkin Pancakes with Ginger Cranberry Sauce

Mimosas & Coffee & Sparkling Cider & Frozen Chocolate Banana Smoothies

Much of this can be made early.  I plan the granola today, the phyllo pastry and muffins probably Saturday.  (I’m working Friday.)  I could make the quiches early, too….leaving only the pancakes and mashed potatoes for the morning.  It’d be nice to have the cranberry sauce warm, too.

I have no idea whether or not I’ll be able to pull this off.

The meat-eaters in the family know that everything’s vegetarian.  (Come to think of it, some of it is vegan.)  (The carmelized onion quiche actually is a vegan recipe that I’m adapting to lacto-ovo.)  If I CAN pull it off, it should be delicious.  The woman checking out my groceries looked puzzled as we chatted about brunch.  She said, “I’m being really careful, because I don’t know what to do with a lot of this stuff.”  It didn’t seem complex to me….uncommon things, maybe, like a pomegranate, and phyllo dough, and raw cashews, but there’s nothing weird about cheese or eggs or spinach or cranberries or ginger root.  I told her the planned menu and she said, “That sounds amazing!”.

Yup.  Vegetarians eat well.

Whether or not I can cook it well is another issue entirely.  You, gentle reader, shall be seeing recipes and photos soon….

Comments
  1. Bx says:

    I will testify that you are a wonderful cook!

Leave a Reply

