Tassajara granola

Posted: November 21, 2012 in vegan recipes
Tags: , ,

Several months ago, I tasted a homemade granola bar made by Kristin Clever….it was delish!  I live close enough to Boulder, CO that I feel that I should know how to make granola.  I mean….I don’t eat morning eggs without salsa anymore, and I voted for the legalization of marijuana, and I do a happy dance when it snows. That makes me a Coloradan now, right?

I’d planned to have a variety of fresh fruit out for brunch….pineapple, bananas, apples and Clementine oranges.  Brunch should have fruit, and you don’t have to cook it.  It occurred to me that it would be cool to put fruit over Greek yogurt, and then I’d have cinnamon out, and nutmeg….and then, of course, I thought of granola.  Which led me to my Tassajara Zen Buddhist Center cookbooks, which I haven’t used much yet….and I should dig deeper into.

So while a yogurt/fruit/granola bar for as a side for Thanksgiving brunch is an unusual choice….I like the idea far better than slabs of various pig parts.  I realize many people like their fried pig parts, but, well, it’s my party and I’ll serve granola if I want to.

source:  The Complete Tassajara Cookbook by Edward Espe Brown

either vegetarian or vegan, gluten – (I think…oats are okay, right?)

  • 4 1/2 c rolled oats
  • 3 c coarsely chopped almonds
  • 3 c sunflower seeds
  • 1 c safflower or soy oil
  • 1/2 c malt syrup or 1/4 c honey
  • 1/2 c maple syrup or honey
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 pinch ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c any of the following in bite-sized chunks:  raisins, dried apricots, currants, figs or dates

Preheat oven to 325 deg.  Put the oats, chopped almonds, and sunflower seeds in a large bowl.  Combine the oil, sweeteners, vanilla, almond extract, spices, and salt.  Heat this mixture in a saucepan until it becomes watery.  Pour the oil mixture over the dry ingredients, tossing until everything moistened.  Spread the mixture in a large baking pan or on a cookie sheet.  Bake in the middle of oven for about 20 minutes, or until the granola turns golden, stirring every 5 minutes so the mixture toasts uniformly.

Transfer to a large bowl or cool baking pan and toss occasionally until the granola is thoroughly cool and dry.  Add the dried fruit and toss to mix.  (More than once has someone tried baking the dried fruit with the oat mixture and found the fruit blackened 00 definitely not recommended.)  Store in a tightly covered container.

 

This makes 10 to 12 cups, by the way.  (I should have read that in advance.)  It’s quite good.  We have enough for a year, but that’s okay.  It’s very tasty.

Comments

Leave a Reply

