Spiced peach jam

Posted: September 18, 2012 in gluten-free recipes
Tags: , ,

Mark keeps pointing out how many jars of jam we now have in the pantry.  What he doesn’t notice is that we’ve already eaten a third of what I’ve made so far, and that’s not even giving away any yet.  I’d actually hoped to have a spread of my homemade jams for Thanksgiving, and be able to make kiffles with my jam.

Maybe I need to hide a few.

Colorado peaches.  Had to make a batch of golden peach jam.  The recipes in the Ball book were mostly for plain peach jam, or a honey conserve, which sounded a little interesting.  The first jams I made were basic, straightforward fruit. And they’re really awesome, and Chase also eats them.  I wanted to stretch my fledgling cooking skill a little bit, though.

When Mark and I did our engagement trip to Napa, we had a day of wine tours.  At one of those places, we tasted a peach cinnamon jam that was OUT of this world.  We’ve been missing that jam ever since, and we were not bright and didn’t write down the winery or the name of the jam.  So I really wanted to try a cinnamon spice peach jam.  This recipe also had pectin in it.  Pectin has its own flavor, and I’m kind of meh on the flavor.  I do notice it slightly in the jam.  But this recipe came out really nice.  Definitely a fancy jam intended for soft skeezy cheeses and not for peanut butter sandwiches.  Love the spice I added to it.  The Ball recipe did not have those in it, but upon googling a few, I saw that the basic jam recipe is only altered by adding spices.

This is the Ball recipe, and what I did with it.

source:  Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving, and Yummly Spiced Peach Jam and Food.com Cinnamon Peach Jam and Yummyly Grand Chamion Peach Jam

gluten-

  • 1 quart finely chopped, peeled peaches
  • 7 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/4 lemon juice
  • 1 pouch liquid pectin
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cinnamon stick

(Wish my camera had focused so you see how embarrasingly gorgeous these peaches were.)  To prepare raw peaches, blanch in boiling water for 30 to 60 seconds, then dunk in cold water.  The peach skins will peel off easily if they are ripe.  Combine fruit, sugar, spices and lemon juice in a large saucepot.  Bring slowly to a boil, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Stir in liquid pectin.  Return to a rolling boil.  Boil hard for 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Skim foam if necessary (and it will be).  Ladle hot jam into hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace.  Adjust two piece caps.  Process 10 minutes at sea level (I’m doing 30 mins) in a boiling-water canner.

Ball says you can add  tsp whole cloves, 1/2 tsp whole allspice and 1 cinnamon stick tied in a spice bag to jam during cooking.  Then take the spice bag out and fill jars.

(Better photo of beautiful peaches.)  I had 2 lbs of peaches, which made a generous 1 1/2 quart of peaches.  I increased the recipe by 150% accordingly, but because I wanted spicy peaches, I doubled the nutmeg and cardamom.  I forgot to double my cinnamon stick, however.  And I think it would be good to use ground cinnamon.  I do like the flavor now, it’s definitely a warm autumny spice peach jam.  But it’s not my cinnamon jam, it’s a cardamom-nutmeg jam.  Which is also lovely, but my tastebuds wanted cinnamon.  I’m also noticing that in my jam, the peach bits are rising to the top, and I have clearer golden bottoms.  I may have an opinion on that as these get eaten up…just noticing it and finding that interesting now.

With 2 lbs of peaches, I ended up with 12 8-oz jars and 3 4-oz jars.  It’s cheeseworthy.  And it’s possible that I’ll make another batch with cinnamon, and *maybe* a dash of clove, without cardamom.  And if it keeps us in cheeseworthy peach jam for the next ten Thanksgivings, that is a happy thing.  (I’ll bet you it won’t last that long, though.)

 

….As these finish processing, they’re still hot, but they are liquidy.  I will watch that they form up, but I’m wondering if I made spicy peach …er, glaze….or something.  Not jam.

Comments
  1. Mark Jonjak says:

    Why are there 37 jars of jam in the bottom of my wife’s backup, spare, 4th shoe closet?

  2. msmsh42 says:

    I do NOT have that many shoes.

Leave a Reply

