Red raspberry jam: grown in Brighton, CO, hand-picked, homemade jam

Posted: September 6, 2012 in gluten-free recipes
Tags: , , ,

Fantastico!

I drive by Berry Patch Farms on my way to the hospital in the mornings.  I’ve been driving by there for two years, and since my drive-by times are 0545 and 1845 when I’m working, I haven’t stopped.  Today, I did.  Wonderful place.  They had more of those wonderful peaches when I first walked in, but there were only two left by the time I was done picking raspberries.  (Won’t make that mistake again.)  That peach tasted like pure happiness.

Mostly, I picked raspberries.  I chose the rubiest berries that almost fell off the vine into my hands.  Red raspberries are Mark’s favorite, so I thought I’d start there.  They’ve also got fields of ever-bearing strawberries and golden raspberries. ….Further types of jam likely coming.

No better time like partial-employment in September to make jam.

source:  Ball Blue Book:  guide to preserving

veganish, gluten –

  • raspberries, I had 1.5 lbs
  • sugar, 2/3 cup for every cup of berry you have

Combine berries and sugar in a large saucepot.  Bring slowly to a boil, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Cook rapidly to gelling point.  As mixture thickens, stir frequently to prevent sticking.  Remove from heat.  Skim foam if necessary.  Ladle hot jam into hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch of headspace.  Adjust two-piece caps.  Process for 25 minutes in boiling canner at metro Front Range and foothills altitudes.

InSANEly good jam.

Leave a Reply

