Zucchini “bars” (read: cake)

Posted: August 26, 2012 in lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes
Tags: , ,

My mother-in-law keeps sneaking vegetables home with my husband.  The wench.

I hopped up and down and scolded my husband and my stepson, “YOUR GRANDMOTHER IS NOT ALLOWED TO GIVE US MORE VEGETABLES!!!”  Mark said, “But I ate the last potato, honey.”  “THAT’S BECAUSE I HAVEN’T PULLED OURS OUT OF THE GROUND YET BECAUSE WE WERE EATING YOUR MOTHER’S!”  Chase piped up, “But gramma had ten zucchinis bigger than my arm on the table…I counted.  She was so happy that we took some.”  “YOUR GRANDMOTHER LOOKS VERY NICE AND SWEET AND DISABLED AND HELPLESS BUT I TELL YOU NO MORE VEGETABLES!!!  SHE’S A MENACE!!!”

That wily Jane.  She’s the one that told me, insisted, that I only put one plant in this year.   I pulled one zucchini out that shredded into six cups.  So I made this again:  Ratatouille bread pudding ….which was great, by the way….used up a basket of heirloom yellow tomatoes, three sprigs of basil and more zucchini.  I got this recipe from my boss at my part-time hospital.  She asked me if I wanted tomatoes.  (No.)  Another woman asked if I wanted plums.  (I actually said yes to that one.)

This may not have turned out the way Michele made it, as it sounds like it’s supposed to be bars.  It seemed cakelike to me, and Chase is calling it a cake.  He actually said it was so rich, he could barely finish.  (Never fear, he managed.)  It was too similar to my basic zucchini bread to me….just zucchini bread plus loads more fat and sugar.  I made it to try something different. especially while we have a 12 year old boy extra time this week to help us eat it.   It’s zucchini cake.  It’s yummy.
source:  Michele Siem

lacto-ovo vegetarian, gluten +

Cake:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c canola oil
  • 2 c sugar
  • 2 1/2 c flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 c nuts (I used hazelnuts for variety)
  • 2 c grated zucchini

Frosting:

  • 1/4 c margarine, softened (I used butter)
  •  1 tbsp milk
  • 1 pckg cream cheese (I at least went with lower fat because I’m kidding myself)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 c powdered sugar

Beat the eggs, add oil, sugar, zucchini, mix.  Add dry ingredients, pour into a greased/sprayed and floured 9 x 13 pan.  Bake for a half hour to forty minutes or so at 350 degrees, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Whip together the frosting ingredients and apply with a spatula to cooled cake.  Put in the fridge to set.

Once I had made this, I think these might be better as little cupcakes.  If I do it again, I’ll try it that way.

It’s a way to get something to stick to the 12 year old’s bones that’s got green vitamins.  It also helps to get him to eat ratatouille by saying he must eat every bite on his plate before dessert.

 

Leave a Reply

