Seitanic red and white bean jambalaya (vegan jambalaya)

Posted: June 13, 2012 in vegan recipes
Tags: ,

I didn’t make up the title of the recipe, but it is cute.  Must be the influence of my charge nurse, Liz, who is from Lousiana.  I wanted to learn to make jambalaya.  I have no idea if this tastes like the real deal, but it is very tasty, very hearty, and incidentally, cheap to make.  This makes a vat, that should last the next several days…which is good, because I am working four in a row through the weekend.

This recipe wasn’t much of a contribution from my garden, but it is nice to have the fresh herbs to throw in.  (The kitty in the photo is my little Beau.)

source:  Veganomicon, by Moskowitz and Romero

gluten +, vegan (easy to substitute chicken instead of seitan for the gluten -)

  • 6 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 loaf simple seitan (I’ve posted a recipe and WordPress is not allowing me to link….)
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and cut into 1/2″ dice (I used orange)
  • 2 celery stalks, cut into dice
  • 4 cloves garlic, diced
  • 3 heaping tablespoons tomato paste (I used a sm can because when would you use the rest?)
  • 1/2 c cooking sherry
  • 2 c long grain rice, brown or white (I used basmati because I have a sack)
  • 1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 15 oz can cannellini beans (I used dried black, soaked overnoc and cooked)
  • 1 15 oz can red kidney beans
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 – 6 sprigs fresh thyme (optional, and I have this in my garden)
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1 tsp dried paprika
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed (which I didn’t have)
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder (which I didn’t have)
  • 4 c vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp salt
  • several pinches fresh ground black pepper
  • chopped flat-leaf parsley for garnish (which I have on the deck, but forgot)
  • (The recipe says that you can change the herbs for your favorite-style Cajun seasoning…which I DO have…and didn’t realize I could do this until after the recipe is done.  Substitute most of the seasonings, but keep the fresh thyme.)

Preheat oven to 375F

Preheat a large oven-to-table Dutch oven or heavy-bottomed pot over med heat.  (I don’t have a Dutch oven, so I used my largest pot and largest casserole dish.)  Saute the seitan in 2 tbsp of olive oil for 4 – 6 mins, until browned.  Remove from the pot and set aside.  Add remaining olive oil to the pot, then stir in the onion, celery, pepper and garlic.  Saute for 12 to 14 mins, until veggies soft and a little mushy.  Stir in the tomato paste and cook, stirring frequently, for another 4 minutes.

Stir in the sherry to deglaze the veggies, cook for 30 seconds, then add the rice.  Stir the rice for 4 minutes, then stir in diced tomatoes, seitan, beans, bay leaf, all the herbs, salt and pepper.  Bring to a simmer, pour in the vegetable broth, and return to a simmer.  Taste the broth and adjust the salt and pepper to taste.

If using Dutch oven, cover and place in oven for 30 to 35 minutes, until rice is tender.  If using a pot, transfer to a deep casserole dish, cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake for 30 to 35 minutes.  If using brown rice, increase baking time to 40to 45 minutes.

Remove from the oven, stir the jambalaya, then cover and allow to sit for about 10 minutes before serving.  Garnish with chopped parsley if desired.

Really great and fairly easy recipe.  Tasty, makes a vat, three different types of protein and several veggies.  I didn’t add any spice because Mark’s got a Wisconsin palette…but by all means, toss the Cholula on it.  (I did.)

Leave a Reply

