Red peppers with quinoa and goat cheese

Posted: May 21, 2012 in lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes
Tags: ,

This week is going to be better than last week, I have decided.  (It took me until about an hour ago to decide this, but whatever.) Last week was a debacle….wailing, gnashing of teeth, drama.

I dreamed, this morning, that I was Sigourney Weaver, and I was standing on a cliffside above a roiling angry sea at night, deep indigo with whitecaps and taste of salt and funk of seaweed.  Behind me was a dimly-lit warren of buildings and pods clinging to the precipice, my work, where I built my robots.  The other people and I worked in relative secret here; nobody knew about my robots and whatever boring projects other people did.

I could see stars between the purple-black clouds, so like those during tornadoes.  And moving in closer was an armada of alien warships just entering the atmosphere.  There were at least two large ones, with a handful of smaller ships, and dots of even smaller pods coming faster, closer.  Most of the people in the buildings were panicking, running around like ants inside the pods, calling governments about the impending doom.  I stood there, thinking.  My robots couldn’t help us.  Because, cool as they were, they did stuff like vacuuming.  (Hey.  Don’t knock it.  I could USE a robot that vacuums.) My robots were peaceful robots.

And here I stood, above the sea, armed only with my cool laser-beam toothbrush.  Against the alien invasion.

But at some point today, I realized.  Hey, I’m Sigourney Weaver.  I am Bad.  Ass.  And I will take down your legion of alien warships with my nifty laser-beam toothbrush AND have time for lunch.

Screw you.

And my day was immeasurably better after that.

And this is my plan for dinner.  Picture to come later today.

source:  Bittman, aka my Julia Child, in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian

lacto-vegetarian, gluten –

  • 4 bell peppers in fun colors
  • 1 c cooked red (or plain) quinoa
  • 1/2 c goat cheese (Bittman suggests 1 c…that’s a lot of freakin cheese)
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • a handful of button mushrooms
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 c evoo
  • fresh chopped basil leaves
  • fresh chopped cilantro
  • fresh chopped oregano

Preheat oven to 450.  Cut tops off the peppers, and hollow out white rind.  Mix quinoa, cheese, garlic, salt, pepper and your herbs.  Stuff your peppers.  Sprinkle insides of peppers with salt & pepper.  Spread half the evoo in a shallow roasting pan that will allow room for the peppers.  Roast peppers for 30 to 40 minutes, until stuffing is hot.  Test by putting a metal skewer in the middle…if that is warm, you’re good.

Serve hot, warm or at room temp, drizzled with remaining olive oil and garnished with more herbs, if you like.

Leave a Reply

