Congo Tofu, or What Mark Cooks When I’m Mad At Him

Posted: May 21, 2012 in vegan recipes
Tags: ,

My husband was seriously in the doghouse last week.  The reasons for it aren’t blogworthy.  I worked a 52 hour workweek, and so when I came home from Platte on Saturday, I found that he had cooked!  We’ve been together four years, and he’s cooked for me three times.  (I don’t tend to get mad at him very often.)

This is what he cooks when that happens.  It’s really tasty.  I get the impression that he learned to make this dish for some girlfriend distant years ago….but I don’t grouse and I take my “I’m sorry”s as they come.  He had this, and a glass of OZV Zin poured when I hobbled in after my busy shift (complete with tweaked back).  This was ready, as was the hottub, and an episode of Sherlock Holmes on Roku.  He even cleaned up all the dishes, and remembered not to run my Calphalon frying pan in the dishwasher.  I didn’t even have to remind him.

It was like I’d walked home to a laborador retriever giving me Sad Puppy Eyes I’m So Sorry I Piddled On The Floor I Love You With My Whole Being Please Forgive Me Eyes of Death.  (He doesn’t like dogs and wouldn’t get the gentle spirit in which I mean this….but he doesn’t read my blog, anyway.)

He’s a good hubby.  grumble grumble.  And I love him.  grumble.  And he’s good to me.

The peanut butter with the tomato may sound strange, but I’m telling you, millions of Africans have the right idea with this.  I suppose you could make this with seitan or chicken, if you have the inclination.

source:  I have no idea where he got this

vegan, gluten –

  • 1 pckg extra firm tofu
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 – 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 2 inch piece of ginger, peeled & minced
  • 1 jar unfancy spaghetti sauce
  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 small can tomato paste

optional (and he’s never done it with these)

  • sliced green onions or fresh cilantro
  • 1 – 2 c sliced mushrooms
  • 1 – 2 c chickpeas

Drain tofu.  (If you don’t cook with tofu often, this just means setting a large plate over it, and paper towels under it while you do other things.)  Chop onions, garlic, ginger and any other veggies.  Sautee tofu in peanut oil until browned.  Add veggies, cook until soft.  Add sauce, tomato paste.  Add chickpeas, if you are using them.  Simmer.  When hot, stir in the peanut butter until it mels.

Serve over rice.

Brown rice would be even richer of a taste with this, by the way.

Leave a Reply

