Smoothie a la Copa Cabana

Posted: May 11, 2012 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: , ,

Coconut water is, of course, the stuff in the middle of the coconut that people usually throw out.  Some entrepreneur decided to box it and sell it as a zero-fat coconut flavored water.  And it’s workin out real well for her/him.

vegan, gluten –

  • 330 ml coconut water (small, drink-box container)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • handful of frozen pineapple
  • coconut flakes
  • a little kale
  • 1 scoop Akea Essentials
  • protein powder

This is a pina colada echo.  I could add cream of coconut, but I just am not feelin those calories right now.  Drinking Malibu when I was 19 (and its consequences) mostly ended any love affair with coconut-flavored beverages….I had my last pina colada with Mark in Hawaii two or three years ago.  But bananas and pineapple should go together, and I thought I’d try out the coconut water.  It’s pretty decent.

(I don’t have a photograph today because, well, smoothies aren’t that photogenic without a some effort and Chase and I have a date with Adisa and her dogs to go hike this morning….)

Leave a Reply

