Seitan breakfast sausage

Posted: January 15, 2012 in vegan recipes
Tags: ,

I promise I’ll post the recipes Adisa and I made last week.  This recipe I made because I haven’t given up on having alternative protein to eggs in my morning breakfast burritos.  I’d prefer less cholesterol, and I may be stuck with Egg Beaters, but I thought I’d try seitan breakfast sausage.  Morningstar makes links that are really pretty good.  They’re also pretty expensive.

vegan, gluten++++

source:  Kathrynlovett.com (I googled several recipes, and thought I’d try this….)

  • 1 cup tvp (I did not know what tvp was until this recipe…textured vegetable protein*)
  • 2 tbsp Braggs Liquid Aminos*
  • 2 tsp vegetable boullion
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 7/8 c boiling water
  • 1/2 c vital wheat gluten
  • 1/2 c chickpea/besan flour
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp garlic powder (yes it’s on here twice)
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tsps sage (I have no sage.  I left it out.**)
  • 1 tsp liquid smoke **
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tbsp soy/tamari
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 c water

In medium bowl, mix tvp, liquid aminos, boullion, 2 tsp garlic powder and boiling water.  Stir well and set aside for ten minutes.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Form patties and fry in non-stick skillet.

These are pretty good by themselves.  They don’t cook evenly, however…the outsides get very crunchy and the insides, without the crunchiness, don’t have the seitan texture that I love.  Since these are intended to be torn/chopped up and tossed in with garlic potatoes for my breakfast burritos, I may just try it again and pan fry the whole thing to make sausage crumbles.  The taste is good, not wow….but I’m not sure I’m looking for wow here. 

*  I’ve never cooked or known about tvp before.  I’m a little torn by some vegan products, because it feels like certain foods are heavily processed and that may be trading one evil (heavily processed food) for another (animal cruelty, for example).  Liquid Aminos falls into the same category for me.  For some reason, homemade seitan and tofu don’t fall into this dubious food product category for me, but they probably should.  Once I learned how agave nectar is processed, I switched it mentally from ‘wholesome food’ to ‘same processed crap as everything else’.  Because my reasons for eating vegan meals are not predominantly to prevent animal or bug cruelty.  Mostly, because I’m not convinced of bug cruelty.  I cooked with the tvp and aminos, and now I have them and can cook with them again.  If you don’t have them, not sure this recipe should make you run out and get them.

Makes me want to find out what IS liquid aminos….how do you get an amino acid fluid?  I kinda wanna know, since I put it in my food.  I have this because it was the vegan solution for the essential fish sauce ingredient in Thai cooking.  That bottle alone opens up my favorite Thai cookbook again…which is overwhelmingly meaty.  I used it heavily when I still cooked chicken and fish (in the early 90s).  I haven’t touched it since 1995.  When I found out last fall to look for liquid aminos, I did. ….and I should probably go find out if it’s alien blood or obtained from the torture of cabbages or something.

I may try down the line is making my normal seitan recipe with the other herbs/spices, to see what happens.

**Liquid smoke is something meat eaters have in their cupboard, not longtime vegetarians.  I don’t have sage for that reason, too.  Sage is something you put on fowl.  Yes, you CAN put it in other foods, but I’ve never missed it.  I haven’t needed sage in a recipe in at least five years.  I don’t know what else I’ll use liquid smoke for….I know I could make bbq or jerk tempeh.

There’s few enough meat foods out there I want to mimic.  Breakfast sausage was just an idea to substitute eggs.

Leave a Reply

