I am sort of embarrassed to show you my breakfast burritos, but I do so cos Anne Marie asked. She’s looking for homemade fast food stuff.

Remember:  I am not a cook.  I am a food assembler.  I make no claim to being a gourmand anything.  This blog is just about stuff I make.  Right?  Right.

I work 12 hour shifts, and depending on which hospital I’m working at that day, I get up at 4:25 or 5:25 am.  I am NOT a morning person.  But I have to have something solid in my stomach in order to hit the floor running.

I remember how nice it was to start my days when I was a computer geek.  I had my own office (sans window, but with a door).  (If you are up on your Dilbert-speak, that tells you where I was in the pecking order of my software company.)  It was the size of a closet.  I ambled in around 9am, and didn’t have to speak to anybody until maybe 10.30 or so.  I had plenty of time to ingest a pot of coffee, nibble on some fruit or yogurt or whatever.  It was my office so I could eat what I wanted….I could have had pancakes with maple syrup.  Geeks are often not morning people, so any communication required before the decent hour of 10.30am could be handled by instant messaging the person who sat in an office five feet away from you.

But now I’m an ICU nurse.  I come into work and walk into a patient room, and there’s a person whose loved one is possibly dying, broken bleeding, diseased….and that family member wants me to be 1000% sympathetic, soothing, emotionally connected to them and the loved one in addition to being perfectly accurate in my medications, communication to physicians and multi-disciplinary team, and fully present for their needs.  To hold their hand, weep with them, be joyful with them over improvement….

At freakin 0700.  Before I’ve had more than an ounce of coffee.  They don’t even HAVE and instant messaging system in the hospital.  Bastards.

Why didn’t they tell me that when I got out of IT to become a nurse?

(And yes, that photo is my freezer.  Notice that much of my freezer is given to fake food that the eleven year old eats….like vegan corn dogs.  When I ATE meat, I didn’t eat freakin corn dogs.  Why any human would choose to eat tofu dyed pink and slathered with cornmeal glued together with corn syrup is beyond my comprehension.  The “drumsticks” just means the child doesn’t know what good ice cream tastes like.  I’m his stepmother, so I got to his already broken tastebuds when he was nine.  I do my best, but some fights I lose.)

Also, I’ve done breakfast burritos the vegan way, with beans and rice, and I hated it.  The beans, frozen and reheated, were tolerable, but the rice really didn’t come out okay.  Not sure why.  Someone must have this secret.  One of these days, I’ll find it.  So instead this is the starch and cholesterol version.

lacto-ovo vegetarian, gluten + (unless tortillas exist that are gluten free, and they may…perhaps cornmeal tortillas, though I can’t speak to how they freeze)

source:  I made this up, but probably everybody who makes food already does this

  • pckg 16 tortillas, burrito sized
  • 3 – 6 Idaho potatoes
  • 9 – 12 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • generous cracked pepper
  • ground garlic
  • 2 tbsp butter or Earth Balance (just because the recipe isn’t vegan doesn’t mean you can’t lower the fat or animal sources, if desired)
  • 2 oz cheese of your choice, totally optional
  • 3 – 4 oz salsa of your choice

Chop potatoes into small pieces (skins on).  In a 9 x 12 Pyrex, melt your butter or Earth Balance on the stovetop.  Toss potatoes in, with salt, pepper, garlic.  Mix it around a bit and put in the oven to cook at 375 for 40 to 50 minutes.  Turn the potatoes occasionally, so they all get cooked through, and a little crunchy.

In a large skillet, melt another dab butter/Earth Balance, and crack your eggs into the pan.  Scramble, add a pinch more salt/pepper/garlic.  Add cheese if you are using.  When eggs are cooked through, break them up a bit.

When both potatoes and eggs done, set up an assembly line in your kitchen.  I set out plastic wrap, tortillas, potatoes, eggs, and salsa.  Each tortilla gets 1 1/2 wooden spoons full of potatoes, 3/4 spoonful potatoes, a dollop of salsa.  Then I wrap the tortilla, wrap it in saran wrap and set it out to cool to at least room temp.

I make anywhere from half dozen to a dozen of breakfast burritos this way, then stash them in the freezer.  In the mornings, I zap for 1:30 in the microwave, and go.

Comments
  1. I had a dream the other night that you and I were running through a mall during an apocalypse-type situation, looking for gluten free food…. Weird.

    Thanks for posting this! I don’t know how well corn tortillas freeze either, but I will try it. I also may just freeze an egg and potato mix (i.e., omelette) which I can heat up and throw on a tortilla. I need to get better at freezing things!

    Hope you are well.

  2. P.S. Loved your take on the nurse thing. I honestly don’t know how you do it every day. The ability to close my door is what saves me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

