Bex’s fabuloso flatbread

Posted: November 7, 2011 in vegan recipes

I actually made this to go with the butternut squash soup.  It’s fabulous.  You can put whatever toppings you’d like on it.  I’m in the habit of putting pine nuts, and often parmesan and oregano and garlic on it.

I had this bread first at Bex’s house, ages ago.  She’s really an awesome cook, and she convinced me that I, too, could make bread.  It set off a flatbread-making kick there for awhile.  (I should make chapatis/pita and show you how fun that is.)  Flatbread is fun because it’s easy and you don’t have to have big expectations of it coming out poofy and crusty and perfectly shaped.  It’s supposed to be flat-ish, oddly shaped, and just a little crusty.

It’s what nonbakers should bake.  Perfect for food assemblers everywhere.

vegan, gluten +

source:  Bex

  • 2/3 c water
  • 1 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/4 c olive oil, plus more just because
  • 1 tsp salt

Warm the water to around 80 degrees.  Mix yeast into water, stir and let sit for a few minutes.  Rinse and repeat with the sugar.  Add oil.  Add a smidge more oil.  Add the flour.  Add the salt, and mix into the flour.  Stir with a spoon until the dough begins to stick together and pull away from the edges of the bowl.  Knead gently by folding dough over onto itself.  Sprinkle more flour on as necessary if too sticky.  If too dry, add a little more oil.  Form into a ball and place in a bowl with just a little bitty bit of oil to keep it from sticking.

Put in a warm place to rise.  If you let it rise more than a couple of hours, give it a few pokes to deflate, and let rise another hour.  Otherwise, let it rise for a minimum of 30 minutes for flatbread.  Spread by hand onto a greased cookie sheet, pizza pan, whatever.  Dig knuckles into surface.  Add a glug of oil and toppings.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, but check it at fifteen.

I found that I made perfect flatbread every time at my old apartment, and it’s more difficult at the house.  I don’t think the house is quite warm enough in wintertime, but my apartment was, and the apartment had heaters and a lot of warmth in the kitchen.  Not so at this house.  I’m more successful when I make this in the summertime, I set the dough out on the deck….and in wintertime, I turn the oven to 200degrees and keep it on while the dough rises.  Ideally, the flatbread should be roughly an inch and a half or so tall.

 

Leave a Reply

