Seitan satay with Indonesian coconut rice

Posted: November 1, 2011 in vegan recipes
Tags:

All the pieces come together with this.

vegan, gluten –

source:  the 30 Minute Vegan’s Taste of the East, by Reinfeld and Murray
Indonesian Coconut Rice

Serves 6 to 8….makes a decent-sized pot.

I simplified this recipe.  The original adds a little garlic, ginger, cloves and green onions…pan fried in oil, mixed with the rice.  And also some toasted coconut.  I confess I’ve been cooking all day, and don’t care to add the extra little flavoring when I know my main course has all of that.

  • 4 lemongrass stalks, bottoms and outer stalks removed
  • 2 c white basmati
  • 1 (14 oz) can coconut milk (light)
  • 1 3/4 c water
  • 1 3/4 tsp sea salt

Crush lemongrass by lightly pounding it with wooden spoon or other heavy object.  Place in lg pot with rice, water, milk, salt and bring to boil.  Lower heat to simmer, cover and cook until all liquid absorbed, approximately 15 minutes.

Good rice.  My current only source of lemongrass is my grocery store.  They have small stalks of lemongrass in plastic containers, and the one stalk I found was labeled “Manager’s Special $1.19” because it was just getting a little moldy on the outside.  It was sad, but I bought it anyway.  I cut off the bad parts and once I smacked the hell out of it, it still smelled absolutely divine.  Just that one stalk flavored the entire pot of coconut rice.  It was $1.19 well spent.

Indonensian Seitan Satay

Serves 4 appetizer portions.  Since I’m making dinner with this, I opted to double it and add a bell pepper.  I’m hoping it won’t be too rich for dinner.  The variations call for different veggies to be used in make-your-own kabobs.  I don’t really want kabobs for dinner, just some seitan over the rice, with a little sauce.

  • 1 8 oz pckg seitan (I used the package I had, plus one loaf of white seitan)
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1/8 tsp tumeric
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp tamari
  • 2 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1 cup or more of peanut sauce
  • skewers, if using

Slice seitan into bite-sized pieces.  Heat oil over med-high heat.  Add pepper and garlic, cook for 2 minutes.  Add seitan and tumeric, cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add tamari/vinegar, turn to low heat.  Put the seitan on skewer and serve with small bowls of the peanut sauce for dipping.

This was fabulous.  You don’t need much of the sauce, but the pan-seared seitan was fantastic over the rich rice.  I cooked all day, but with the seitan already made, this was actually easy.  It’s the initial time (for whatever an hour of mostly-ignored cooking is worth) investment of the seitan.  The rest of it takes less than 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

