Mom’s roasted garlic and butternut squash soup

Posted: November 1, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

I’m having a frenzy of cooking today.  I go a few weeks making the usual stuff or simple baked-potato-with-broccoli sort of thing, and I’ve got the energy to make new stuff today.  I’ve already banged out a dozen breakfast burritos for freezing, and I have plans to make complicated stuff this afternoon.  I’m making food for us for the next two workdays, and so Mark can feed himself Friday night while I go out with my girlfriends.

It’s cloudy, and cold and so in addition to tonight’s main course, I’m definitely making soup!  I have a butternut squash from my garden that’s been saying “Make me into your Mom’s soup!”  So I oblige.  Don’t know what recipe book mom got this from.  I love this soup.  I make it several times in fall and winter. The recipe calls for a homemade salsa as a soup topper.  I don’t make it this way, I make bread (If I’m ambitious, recipe to follow) and dunk it in my soup.  This is what I make.  But you could top it with your favorite homemade salsa.

(I’ve learned that soup is good food, but not photogenic, so here’s a photo of the squash and garlic that is making my house smell divine right now.)

vegan, – gluten

  • 2 garlic bulbs
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • a few fresh thyme sprigs (My thyme plant is long dead and gone, I used dry spice)
  • 1 lg butternut squash, halved and seeded
  • 2 onions chopped
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 5 c vegetable stock (the recipe tells you you can use chicken stock)
  • 2 – 3 tbsp fresh oregano
  • salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 425F.  Place garlic bulbs on a piece of foil and pour over half the olive oil.  Add the thyme, fold foil around garlic to enclose completely.  Place foil parcel on baking sheet with squash and brush squash with 1 tbsp oil.  Roast for 25 minutes, then reduce temp to 375 and cook for 20 – 25 minutes more, or until squash is tender.

Heat remaining oil in a lg, heavy pan and cook onions and coriander gently for about 10 minutes, or until soft.  When cool, squeeze the garlic out of its skin, scoop the squash out of its skin and add both into the onion pan.  Add the stock, 1 tsp salt and plenty of pepper.  Bring to a boil, simmer gently for 10 minutes.

Stir in half the oregano and cool soup slightly.  Then process in a food processor (or blender).  Reheat the soup without allowing it to boil, then taste for seasoning before ladling into bowls.  Sprinkle remaining oregano on top.

Mmmmmm.

Comments
  1. I love this recipe and the fact that you are sharing recipes with us. Tell me about freezing breakfast burritos. How do you make them? How do you reheat them? Anything I should know before trying it? I am trying to get more ahead of the curve on preparing meals in advance, but still treading water a bit.

    I also want to go back and read your recipe for tempeh. I know you had one. I bought some yesterday and need to figure out what to do with it!

    XOXO

    • msmsh42 says:

      If it’s not too silly, I’ll post what I do for breakfast burritos. There’s nothing at all to it. I have experimented with a few things, and I can post what I found. On my workdays, I usually have to eat in the car. If I’m lucky, I can have Greek yogurt, but usually I have to hit the ground running. So breakfast in advance is a big necessary deal.

      We do tempeh in my peanut pasta stuff at least once every two weeks. It’s one of my favorite easy dinner recipes. Mark sometimes fends for himself, and pan fries half of a block, makes toast, adds the veggies he likes and calls it dinner, too. I also love to pan fry the tempeh (helps so much with texture….very little oil, it’s the “searing” of it that gives the crunch) and throw it in a bean chili. You can do the same and toss it in a salad, too. Just adds a nice crunch.

Leave a Reply

