Black bean soup with cumin

Posted: September 25, 2011 in vegan recipes

Well, September’s not even out and I’ve got my first cold.  It’s like the viruses plot all summer to find me.  (This one courtesy of Chase’s field trip…20some 6th graders up in the mountains…a haven of germs and the kid prides himself on going coatless and in shorts through December.)  (He is significantly worse off than me, though, poor kid.)

Soup it is.  I got this recipe ages ago from Bex, and I’ve made it a jillion times.  It’s great comfort food soup.  I usually make it with cornbread (and I did today).  My cornbread, from Bittman, is here.  As much as I love making things with peppers, I have Wisconsin tastebuds in the house.  Since I want Chase (and Mark) to eat it, I substituted the peppers with corn today.

I love this soup.  I’ve made it enough times that I’m loose about the recipe.  I’ll put in today’s variations, too.  I substituted because I’d rather sit at home and relax than run to the grocery store.  I’ve got the sniffles and am a little whiny today.

vegan, gluten –

Source:  Bex

  • 1/2 c dried black beans (I have black beans from my garden, and I didn’t measure this precisely…it was likely more beans than that.  Just ends up being more soup.)
  • 4 c white veggie stock (I used vegetarian bouillon cubes today…but stock really is better)
  • 1 lg tomato, diced (pulled a handful of little yellow tomatoes from the garden)
  • 1 lg green bell pepper, diced  (pulled an orange bell pepper from my garden)
  • 4 green onions, chopped (used a yellow vidalia I had)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced (used 5 little cloves from homegrown garlic Jane gave me)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 tsp red chili powder (I lighten for the family….I’d sock 2 tsp in there for my sinuses if I could)
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped (don’t have any today, and it’s fine without)
  • black pepper to taste
  • 2 celery sticks, because I had them and they add fluid, which helps with the extra beans

 

In a large bowl, cover the black beans with water by 4″.  Refrigerate overnight.  Drain.  (Actually I remembered I’d wanted to soak the beans when I was awakened by Chase’s coughing at 2am.  So I got up, got him some cherry lidocaine spray for his throat and went downstairs to soak them.  They were ready by 9, when I got around to starting the soup.)

In a large pot, combine onions (celery) and stock.  Bring to a boil.  Add garlic and beans.  Cook covered over medium-low for 40 minutes (thereabouts).  Puree 1 1/2 c bean stock mix.  Return to pot; stir in remaining ingredients except cilantro.  Simmer, covered, 45 minutes.  Stir in cilantro, cook 20 minutes more.

Mmmmmm soup.  (I’ll upload a photo when I serve later, when we’re all home from the Packers game.)

Comments
  1. Bex says:

    Yay! I love this soup. It’s really good served over brown rice as well.

Leave a Reply

