Thai-style grilled corn with roasted peanuts

Posted: June 24, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes

Okay, I don’t have photos of either of these recipes, because we kinda snarfed them down before I thought about it.  I plan to make the peaches again tonight, so I’ll try to remember to photograph before I eat it.

I think I’ve mentioned that for the past few weeks, I’ve been making a little extra when I cook and, once a week, I (or I make future hubby) have been driving up to Longmont to give some munchies and stop to chat with my future mother in law.  Even if I wasn’t madly in love with my fiance, I’d want his mother to be my mother in law.

As a little thanks, Jane sent Mark home with a Vegetarian Times on vegetable grilling.  Found a ton of ideas.  I love corn on the cob.  I could eat it every single day in the summer.

source:  Vegetarian Times, July/August 2011

vegan, gluten –

  • veggie oil, for brushing grill (okay, I kind of don’t do this)
  • 2 tbsp lowfat coconut milk
  • 1 tsp light brown sugar (I used sugar in the raw because I have a jar of it)
  • 1 1/2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp grated lime zest
  • 1/4 tsp chile-garlic sauce, such as sambal oelek (not a clue what sambal whatever is…I used “sweet chile sauce” from Taste of Asia, which is available at my normal grocery store)
  • 1/4 c lightly salted, dry roast peanuts
  • 4 med ears corn on the cob

Brush grill grates with oil, and preheat grill to medium.  (Okay, for you meateaters used to grilling, I’m sure you can obtain “medium heat”.  I am new to grilling.  I was just wildly impressed with myself that I had any consistent fire at all.)  Whisk together milk, sugar, soy, lime juice and zest, chile-garlic sauce in bowl. Pulse peanuts in food processor until finely ground.  (Or put them in a bag, and bang on the bag with the back of a sturdy spoon until pulverized, which is quicker and doesn’t require you to wash your food processor).  Transfer to a large plate.

Place corn on grill, cook 8 minutes (or go look at your corn when you hear popping noises, which probably doesn’t happen to people who know how to grill well), or until browned and charred in spots.  Brush with milk mixture, grill two more minutes.  Transfer to platter and roll in peanuts.

This was great.  At heart, though, I think I’m a boring Illinois girl and don’t need the extra snap with my corn on the cob.  I loved the sauce, though, and I will try it again and sprinkle on plain steamed broccoli or something sometime.  Really easy, and grabs a lot of distinct, bright Thai flavors.

Comments
  1. Boring Illinois girl was never a moniker I’ve used for you!

Leave a Reply

