Polenta with pasta pazool and grilled melanzane (eggplant)

Posted: June 24, 2011 in lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes

This was dinner.  I’m trying to learn how to grill, and it isn’t easy.  I had no interest in doing so until this Vegetarian Times issue, because I’d always thought cooking on a grill is the world of carnivores.  The amaretto peaches has taught me otherwise.

Melanzane is Italian for eggplant.

source:  me

lacto-vegetarian, gluten –

Cook sauce all day in crock pot.  Slice an eggplant, salt it and let it “sweat” while you do other things.  Whip up polenta, put in small ramekin cups to cool.  Flip cups onto plate so you have somewhat solid polenta rounds.  Grill eggplant.  Pour sauce over polenta and eggplant.  Top with grated cheese.

Okay, a recipe-writer, I am not.

Tasty weeknight (on a day off) dinner.  Mark doesn’t isn’t wild about eggplant, but he dutifully ate two rounds.  (I put extra mushrooms in the sauce for him.)  Mostly, I did this to see if I could grill well.  Eggplant’s a common grilling veggie, so I wanted to try.  The taste was great, but my timing and my ability to get the fire just right needs work.  I will practice more this summer.

Leave a Reply

