Amaretto peaches over grilled angel food cake with honey cream

Posted: June 24, 2011 in lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes
Tags: , ,

This was precisely as good as you think it was.

Mark and I love amaretto.  Generally, we’re wine-drinkers.  (And some days he has cheap “super light” beer that other men mock him for drinking….and in summer, sometimes I like to have Mike’s Hard Lemonade.  But generally, we’re wine drinkers.)  He has a preference for cabs and zins; I have a preference for syrahs, petite syrahs (It is a different grape), and the occasional merlot.  But really, both of us are happy to try any varietal.  We do get out of “California and Oregon” sometimes and are open to super Tuscans or Bordeaux or Chianti….but we like American style wines best. So many European reds have that vague dusty taste…

Sorry.  Did I sound like a wine snob?  Sorry.

Mark owned a liquor store up until last year when he sold it, so we’ve tasted a little of all kinds of stuff, including liqueurs.  We have tried some really bizarre, nasty stuff.  There are viler substances than Jagermeister.  Now, especially since he owns a different business, we don’t have as many adventurous beverages in the house.  Amaretto is the one we tend to always have that both of us drink.

I read this recipe to him and his eyes popped out of his head.  Halve the entire recipe for two people.

source:  Vegetarian Times, July/August 2011

lacto-vegetarian, gluten +

  • 3 c thinly sliced peaches (about 4 medium)
  • 2 tbsp amaretto liqueur
  • 2 tsp cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 c lowfat sour cream (you will never miss the ‘full fat’)
  • 1 tbsp honey (I plan to try agave nectar sometime)
  • 4 slices prepared angel food cake

Preheat grill to medium.  Cut 2 10-inch lengths heavy duty foil.  Place 1 1/2 c peaches in center of each sheet, top with half the amaretto, butter, cinnamon.  Fold edges together to seal, place on grill.  Cook 6 to 8 minutes.  Transfer packets to baking sheet to cool slightly.  Meanwhile, whisk together sour cream and honey in bowl.  (I suggest you warm your honey and sour cream in Pyrex measuring cup.)  Grill cake slices 30 seconds each, or until golden.  Transfer to plates, top with peaches, and garnish with honey cream.

This was amazing.  It was tiramisu with hot cinnamon peaches.  Remember how rockin hot peaches over vanilla ice cream was as a kid?  (Just thinking of that conjures memories of my grandma hugging me, and yipping puppies at my feet while I ate ice cream with warm peaches on the back step of her house.  Every human should have memories that great about peaches and hugging grandmas.)  This is the grown up version of that happy. 

I wanna mention something about grilling angel food cake.  When light golden, it’s really nice.  But I didn’t obviously make the angel food cake.  One slice charred in such a way to suggest chemicals.  I think a project I need to take on is how to make angel food cake.  I ate it, and it was delicious, but I think I ate chemicals and sugar.  I bet I could do better.

I’ll try to make more of this tonight and include a photo. 

….still awesome the second time.  Mark wants me to make this at our 3rd July party.

Leave a Reply

