Aloo mattar – North Indian potato pea “curry”

Posted: June 9, 2011 in vegan recipes

I love aloo mattar.  (North Indian potato pea curry.)  I mean, I *LOVE* aloo mattar.  I have had vision quest power animal profound type dreams that involve aloo mattar as a reward for struggles overcome.  For real.  (It involved being chased by dinosaurs, too, and somethin about a school bus.  It was very complicated.)

The restaurant that served perfect aloo mattar was across the street from the Denver state capitol building more than a decade ago.  It left, sadly, to become a house of ill repute, (i.e. a hotel that rents by the half hour), and during the term of by ex-Mayor now-Gov Hickenlooper, it became an apartment building.

So I’ve never tried to make it because, well.  It’s aloo mattar.  I’ve decided to get over myself and the only way that I’m ever going to have aloo mattar ever again is if I find out how to make it myself.  This is my first attempt.

source:  Manjulas Kitchen Aloo Mattar

vegan, ?-gluten if potatoes have no gluten?

  • 3 medium boiled potatoes
  • 3/4 cup frozen green peas
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds (jeera)
  • 1/8 teaspoon asafetida (hing)
  • 1 teaspoon ginger paste
  • 1 minced green chili
  • 2 tablespoons coriander (dhania)
  • 1 teaspoon fennel seed powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon paprika (dagi mirch)
  • 1 teaspoon salt adjust to taste
  • 1 teaspoon mango powder amchoor (I did not have this.  The Indian grocery did not have this.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garam masala
  • 2 medium tomatoes sliced
  • About 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (hara dhania)  (from my garden)
  1. Peel the potatoes cut them in bite size pieces.
  2. In a small bowl mix ginger, green chili, coriander, fennel seed, turmeric, and paprika with ¼ cup of water.
  3. Heat the oil in a saucepan. Test the heat by adding one cumin seed to the oil. If the cumin seed cracks right away, the oil is ready.
  4. Add the cumin seeds, and asafetida, after cumin seeds crack add the spice mix cook until spices start leaving the oil this should take about one minute.
  5. Next add green peas and half a cup of water and let it cook until they are tender.
  6. Add potatoes and salt mix it well, while mixing mash few pieces of potatoes that will give thickness to gravy.
  7. Add about 2 cups of water after it comes to boil lower the heat to medium and let it cook for about five minutes.
  8. Add mango powder, garam masala, chopped cilantro, and slice of tomatoes mix it gently after gravy comes to boil turn off the heat and cover the pot. Tomatoes will cook with the steam.
  9. Aloo matter is ready to serve.

This was very good aloo mattar.  It wasn’t aloo mattar because of failings of my own.  Next time, I will boil the potatoes until they are falling apart.  The taste was possibly perfect, but the texture was not….too runny with water.  What I need to do is boil the heck out of the potatoes.  I kept the potatoes cooked, but intact so they could be ‘bite-size’.  What I hope is that second day aloo mattar is the best.  (My mother’s second day lasagne was perfect.)

Also, Mark came home early, so the tomatoes still tasted early in the cooking.  Again, this might be fixed by being second day.

I’m really loving the fact that I’m starting to harvest herbs from my garden for my meals.  One of my cilantro plants was actually gone to flower today, so I cut it way back.  That fresh cilantro smelled incredible with the rest of the spices while cooking.

All in all, this was really, really good and I’ll try it again.  I should make it with plain rice or flatbreads, however, instead of the sweet saffron, of course.  The saffron rice is so amazing that it’s hard to give the aloo mattar a fair shake.  And this aloo mattar really deserves a fair shake.

Comments
  1. Bex says:

    Awesome! With the boyos out of town, I’m cooking all Indian, all vegetarian this week. Tonight is Vegetarian Korma. With purple cauliflower. Because purple cauliflower is cool.

  2. msmsh42 says:

    PURPLE! That’s so COOL! Where are you getting purple cauliflower?!? I want some, too!
    /m

  3. Sorry I’ve been incommunicado…. Life turned a bit right side up lately (was upside down). Now I’m back. I love aloo mattar and saffron rice (and weird dreams)! Yes, potatoes are gluten free – no issue there. Lucky, because I love them!!! Can’t wait to try your recipes. Tell me how this tastes 2nd day.

Leave a Reply

