Sauteed seitan with spinach and shrooms

Posted: May 16, 2011 in vegan recipes
Tags:

So, when deciding what to make for dinner, I wanted to use my homemade seitan, and a cup or so of baby spinach that Jane insisted I pull from her garden as thanks for dropping off snacks last Friday.  Also, the Peruvian seitan was spicy and to my liking, so I thought I’d have milder flavors and mushrooms for Mark for tonight’s dinner.  Third, it’s been a ridiculously long, hard, busy week and easy was another requirement.

Veganomicon has a great recipe that I altered.  I halved the recipe, since I only wanted dinner for us (and we have small portions), plus leftovers for the next two shifts.  (I’ve found that “4 servings” in most cookbooks, means 6 or 8 for us.)  I went to the beta grocery store on the way home from the gym, and they had no baby spinach.  (Which is why they are clearly the beta grocery store.)  But they did have really fresh brussels sprouts. 

The photo’s also of my thyme plant, which donated to this dish.  😀

source:  Moskowitz & Romero, Veganomicon

vegan, +gluten

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 c seitan, sliced into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/2 sm onion, sliced into thick half-moons
  • 1 portobello shroom, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 springs of fresh thyme, cut up
  • a few leaves of fresh basil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1/4 c red wine (actually, it was probably more than 1/4 c….I tossed in the last of the Castle Rock cab we’d been drinking)
  • 1/4 c veggie broth
  • 1 c fresh baby spinach (a la Jane)
  • 4 or 5 brussels sprouts

Saute the seitan for about 2 minutes.  Add the onions, and saute until soft.  Add the shrooms, garlic, theyme, basil, salt and pepper, and saute for another eight minutes.  Once the shrooms are cooked and soft, add wine and broth.  Add spinach in batches to incorporate.  Cook another five minutes.  Serve immediately.

I ladled this over some mounds of red quinoa I made today, too.  I heart quinoa.

Flavorful, especially with the good wine, and springy with the crunchy brussels sprouts.  Great weeknight dinner.  Hope the leftovers are as good when I’m at work.

Leave a Reply

