Spanish yellow (brown) rice….part 1

Posted: May 13, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

I did promise I’d make this complicated Latin meal. I don’t have a fantastic photo of it, because Mark and I dug in and snarfed down before I remembered to photograph.  The full meal is toxic to the glutenless, I’ll warn.  However, both of my gluten-free friends eat meat, which would make an easy substitute.

The rice is a filling lunchbox alone for me, and the whole meal is very filling, just-enough lip-smacking spicy, starchy goodness.  I made a big batch and brought some to my future mother-in-law, Jane, this morning, and she enjoyed it, too.  Now I’m having me time and I am typing this with a glass of wine.  I shall blog about my culinary adventure, then head upstairs, lie down on my bed in a puddle of me, and flip around for Law and Order episodes.

Yellow Rice with Garlic source:  T.H. Romero’s Viva Vegan!

vegan, -gluten

  • 2 tbsp annatto-infused oil (2 -4 tsp achiote paste plus 2 tbsp canola oil, same thing, different form, and I was able to find at the Savory Spice on Platte Street, which is up the street from my coffeeshop)
  • 5 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 c uncooked long-grain white rice (i used 2 c brown rice, knowing that I was making enough for my lunches and Jane)
  • 1 2/3 c veggie broth (4c veggie broth, brown rice needs more fluid)
  • s & p
  • 1/4 c finely chopped cilantro (omitted cos Mark isn’t a fan of cilantro)

In a large pot, heat oil and combine achiote paste and garlic.  Smush paste, and the oil turns orange.  Cook until fragrant.  Stir in rice until it’s colored.  Pour broth in, and stir.  Increase heat to a rolling boil, then lower to medium-low.  Cook and cover 20 minutes if using white rice, and 40 to 50 minutes for the brown rice.  Ignore the rice, don’t stir.  (Sorry.  I had to be told about that.)  Remove from heat, fluff rice with a fork, and add cilantro if using.

A simple meal in itselfI made this Thursday…5 minutes of cooking preparation, 45 minutes of ignoring it.  Turned out great.  Cookbooks say things like “can be a staple for weekly meals”, “easy enough that your family can it this once a week.”  This is actually the first thing I could see myself making every week.  (Even the pasta and tempeh thing is once every 2 weeks at this point.)  Spanish brown rice.  High protein, high flavor, forty-five minutes of effort, forty of which I can do something completely different.

Maybe everybody else knows this already.  I did not.   Now I do.  😀 

Leave a Reply

