Peruvian seitan and potato skewers (sans skewers), part 3

Posted: May 13, 2011 in vegan recipes
Tags: ,

I tried the skewers, and my potatoes fell apart.  Also, since my plan was to make this meal for:  dinner for Mark and me, plus both of our lunches on day two, plus at least three days’ worth of snacking for Jane, skewers weren’t practical.  If I like this enough to do for a barbeque party, I’m all over it.  This made us a great weeknight meal due to how it was easy to break into chunks of time, and that it will last us through a two-day work stretch for me.

source:  T. H. Romero, Viva Vegan!

vegan, +gluten (easy to substitute with meat to be gluten-free only instead)

  • 1/2 recipe (two loaves) of the steamed red seitan, or two palm-sized meat portions of your choice

Marinade:

  • 5 cloves garlic (aw heck, I finished off a bulb)
  • 3 tbsp “aji panca” paste, or 3 tsp mild ground red chile powder, such as ancho (I live in a place where mild red chile powder is easy to get and dirt cheap in the “Mexican” section of my grocery….buy the version labeled in Spanish only for a 75% discount over the same stuff labeled in English up the aisle)
  • 1/4 c red wine vinegar
  • 3 tbsp peanut or vegetable oil (I used peanut…richer taste)
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar or brown sugar (I used agave)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika (I have no idea if my paprika was smoked first.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Skewers/roast platter:

  • 1 lb wazy potatoes, preferably new potatoes (size of a bing cherry) (I got smallish red potatoes and chopped.)
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced into 1 inch pieces (apallingly, I did NOT have a bell pepper, which never happens in my house…I assumed I didn’t need to buy any, and went without.)
  • 1 lg yellow onion, sliced into 1 inch pieces
  • 12 to 14 bamboo or metal skewers….if using bamboo, presoak

Slice seitan into bite-sized cubes, and place in a lg mixing bowl.  Add onion/peppers.  In a smaller bowl, grate garlic with a microplane grater (or do it the hard way), and grate into bowl.  Add panca paste/chile powder, vinegar, oil, agave/sugar, cumin, oregano, paprika, salt, pepper, and pepper….whisk until smooth.  Pour over seitan and veggies, toss to coat with marinade.

While marinating, place potatoes with skins on (clean first, duh), in a large pot with enough cold water to cover.  Boil.  Lower heat and simmer until tender but holding their shape….12 to 14 minutes.  Drain and cool until you can handle them.

Romero says fire up the grill, poke your goodies with a skewer, slather with excess marinade, and shish your kebobs.  This sounds fun.  This is not what I did.

I put everything into a 12″ pyrex pan, and turned on the oven to 350 degrees.  I placed it, and a separate pyrex that had my rice into the oven, until the potatoes seemed hot in the center.  It took maybe 25 minutes.  Then I spooned out a mound of rice, and in the center, spooned out some veggies and seiten.  It was fabulouso.

Ninety percent of the way through my meal, I remembered to take a photo.  This photo is the last few bites of my delicious dinner.

Leave a Reply

