Lemon poppy seed muffins

Posted: April 30, 2011 in lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

Breakfast is becoming a problem for me.  I don’t want to start my day off with any eggs or butter.  Okay.  I love fruit, but when I have plain fruit for breakfast in the morning, especially work mornings when I’m eating as I drive to the hospital at 0630 and immediately hit the ground running around with my patients, I am so hungry by 0900, I feel weak enough to gnaw my hand off.  My body wants something protein.  Right now, I’m choosing either peanut butter toast or soy smoothies with frozen fruit.  Love the smoothie thing, but I notice hormonal effects when I’m having it more than five days in a week.

I’m having a problem.  So I’m going to cook some proposed solutions.  Thus, today’s vegan muffins.  Fast, wakes nobody up when I leave the house (a downside of the smoothie plan).  And if I don’t like them, Chase is with us this weekend.  I haven’t blogged much about the eating habits of my future stepson, but ‘muffins’ count as one of the rare foods he will eat.  Particularly if I make mini-muffins.  I can make zucchini bread and he’ll eat it in mini-muffin shape, but not in a slice shape.  He will not eat zucchinis in any other form.  (Why the shape makes things more palatable I do not understand; he’s a child, therefore practically a woodland creature and therefore logic has absolutely nothing to do with his eating habits.)

source:  Vegan Brunch, Isa Chandra Moskowitz

vegan, +gluten

  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 c sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 5 tsp poppy seeds
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c soy milk (or almond or rice milk) (I used soy cos I go through that faster)
  • 1/4 c lemon juice, fresh if you’ve got it
  • 1/2 c canola oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon zest
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat to 375.  Lightly grease/spray a muffin tin.  In a lg mixing bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, poppy seeds, and salt.  Make a well in the center and add the milk, lemon juice, oil, zest, and vanilla.  Mix just until all wet ingredients are moistened.

Fill the muffin tin 3/4 full and bake for 23 to 27 minutes, until muffins are lightly browned on top and a toothpick or knife inserted through the center comes out clean.  When cool enough to handle, transfer to racks to cool completely.

I halved the recipe.  It’s an experiment, and though I’m sure it’s tasty, I want to make room for multiple breakfast experiments.  These rock.  I didn’t have a lemon to zest, so the lemon flavor is more subtle, but these are very yummy.  Bet you anything these will be gone before the weekend is over. 

Yes, it’s a bread, with plain joe refined flour, and quite a bit of sugar, but upside to this recipe is that it’s got some protein with the soymilk.  I would be willing to re-try this recipe with less sugar, or maybe with agave nectar instead(?) and maybe 50/50 wheat flour.  Hmmmm….still looking for healthy, tasty options.

p.s.  This photo of Chase shows him with a shiner over his right eye, those scrapes on his nose.  That’s not actually because we beat him.  It’s because he was fighting with his sorta stepsister (his Mom’s future stepdaughter) over a kooshball and he managed to hit his head on a table and give himself a concussion on Easter Sunday.


Comments
  1. Lisa says:

    I have seen some arguments that agave nectar is pretty bad. As you’ve noticed from the hormonal effects, soy is also kind of bad. Can you use yogurt instead of soy in your smoothies sometimes? This smoothie recipe has 20 g protein and no soy: http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/citrus_berry_smoothie.html. I really love it, and I like the use of the dried milk to get the protein in there. I use flax meal instead of wheat germ, and you can save a step by using vanilla yogurt.

  2. msmsh42 says:

    Ooooh, yum. Bookmarked recipe….I’ll definitely try it out. I got flax seeds, that I’m going to try using in salads or stuff.
    Dunno about agave nectar being bad; will check it out.
    Thanks, hunny!
    /m

Leave a Reply

