Asparagus with light lemon sauce

Posted: April 15, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, lacto-ovo vegetarian recipes
Tags: ,

I made this sauce for ‘fresh spring veggie burgers’ (not posted, but will at some point, cos they were freakin awesome).  I have had extra sauce in the fridge for a few weeks.  (I’d love to tell you how efficient I am at using up food, but the truth is I have as much weird, random stuff in my fridge as most mortals.)  I had a great ride + weight training today.  I don’t want to ruin all my good work with heavy food today.  The asparagus in the grocery store looked fresh and tasty.  Then I remembered the sauce in the fridge.  Mmmmm….springy.

The actual recipe is ‘Artichokes with light lemon dipping sauce’.  I imagine this sauce goes well over many steamed veggies.  I had lemons to use up, as I recall.

source:  Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook, editors of Vegetarian Times

lacto-vegetarian, -gluten

  • 2/3 c plain yogurt (I had vanilla.  Tastes fine.)
  • 1/3 c fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp apple juice of frozen concentrate
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • asparagus, or whatever veggie looks good

Whisk together.  Steam your veggie.

Don’t you love recipes like that?  I cooked and ate my lunch in the time it took to write this post.  Quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

