Quinoa & black beans

Posted: April 12, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

Basic, weeknight dinner.  We went out to eat this past weekend at an Indian place, and had very tasty, highly fattening meals.  The salad I made this weekend was full o sugar.  The cocktails I had with a girlfriend last night were very sweet (and not that alcoholic).  (Peaks Lounge is one of the best places to drink in town because of the awesome view of both mountains and city at sunset….it’s not necessarily the best drinks in town.)  ….ANYway, the reality is that I am no longer in my twenties, with time for an hourlong daily workout and 100 mile ride every Saturday (those were the days….:O)

This meal was good, at it gave me a few days of lunch leftovers.  Yes, it could be slathered in cheese or wrapped in a pita.  (I have a wedding dress to fit into come September.)  Sometimes, you just gotta eat right.

source:  Allrecipes.com, Quinoa & black beans

vegan, -gluten

  • 1tsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled & chopped
  • 3/4 c uncooked quinoa
  • 1 1/2 c vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 c frozen corn kernels
  • 2 (15 oz) cans black beans (I used dried, soaked them and slow cooker’ed em)
  • 1/2 c chopped cilantro
  1. Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the onion and garlic, and saute until lightly browned.
  2. Mix quinoa into the saucepan and cover with vegetable broth. Season with cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper. Bring the mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes,
  3. Stir frozen corn into the saucepan, and continue to simmer about 5 minutes until heated through. Mix in the black beans and cilantro.

Good unfancy stuff.  Mr. Man said it was good.  Undoubtedly, he’ll be foraging for something sweet later, but that’s all right.  He and his arteries love me.

Comments
  1. I am super glad to see this recipe. Is there a trick to cooking quinoa? I love it but have never made it.

  2. msmsh42 says:

    Quinoa is the easiest grain I’ve ever tried to make…even easier than rice. It’s so filling, I don’t know how I lived so long without it. It’s a whole protein (not like I worry much about that), it’s fast and it’s got a great flavor. I’m finding that it’s becoming a staple in my kitchen. Kinda like posole….always have that around, too, for a quick, filling grain dish.

    I picked up a ‘red quinoa’ too at my grocery store. Haven’t tried that yet.
    Good luck on your food-assembling adventures! Love to hear about it!
    /m

    • Watch out for the red quinoa! It cooks a bit differently from the regular stuff. We sometimes mix the red and the regular together, less of the red, and it gives the dish a tad bit of a crunch.
      Want easy grain? Try bulgar (bulgur?). Super impressive.

      • msmsh42 says:

        Thanks for the information about the red quinoa. I do like using bulgur, haven’t tried it much lately. Thanks for stoppin by!
        /m

Leave a Reply

