I have no pictures of this because at first, I wasn’t sure that the pear had cooked.  Then omg, it was soooooo tasty!  By the time I thought of taking a photo, Mark’s pear was gone and mine was at least partially gone.  Had problems with this recipe, though.  Here is the recipe:

source:  Vegetarian Times, Roasted Pear Salad

lacto-vegetarian, -gluten

  • 4 Bosc, Comice, Concorde, or Bartlett pears, halved and cored (I used one pear, a half each for me and Mr. Man)
  • 8 tsp. plus 2 Tbs. fig jam, divided
  • 5 oz. soft goat cheese, cut into 8 slices (I used nowhere near this for the 2 of us)
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil, plus more for drizzling, divided
  • 2 Tbs. lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 4 cups watercress or baby arugula (I grabbed mix spring baby greens, and probably did use this amount)
  • 1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced (1/2 cup)
  • 1/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts or pecans (I chose walnuts.)

1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Place pear halves cut-side up in 2 large baking dishes.
2. Spoon 1 tsp. jam in center of each pear half. Top with goat cheese rounds, and lightly drizzle with oil. Bake pears 30 minutes, or until cheese begins to brown.
3. Whisk together remaining 2 Tbs. fig jam, lemon juice, and mustard in bowl. Whisk in 1 Tbs. olive oil.
4. Divide watercress among 8 serving plates. Sprinkle with onion and walnuts. Top each with pear half, and drizzle with dressing.

I had no need to serve 8 people.  So I used 1pear, eyeballed the amount of cheese and fig jam needed.  I’m a vegetarian; I eat DINNER salads.  So between us, we ate about 2 cups each of greens, and used all the fig vinagrette.

The problem was the pears.  If you put a dollop of fig jam and cheese on top of a pear half and bake it, all the good stuff runs off your pear, onto your pan, and tries to burn.  I checked on it, so averted disaster.  Tried the pear halves in lg muffin tins, which had the effect of keeping the pears level, but the sweet-fat stuff still oozed off the top.  Not sure what the solution is.  Next time I make this (and I will make it again), I may lightly oil the pear halves, bake for 20 minutes, then put the yummy fattening stuff on top toward the end.

As a result, we had warm pear salad instead of roasted pear salad.  It was insanely good.  I promise that next time I’ll take a photograph before we eat it all.  😀

Comments
  1. […] snapshot digital camera, which doesn’t do as well as I’d like.  Did get a photo of the Roasted Pear Salad, however, before we snarfed it […]

Leave a Reply

