Southwestern tofu scramble

Posted: April 10, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

It’s Sunday morning, and we’re both home and 11-yr-old-less.  Aaaaahhhhhh.  Every few weeks, the stars align and we get this weekend.  We’ve got the kiddo every Wednesday and Thursday night, and then every other Friday & Saturday nights and most of Sunday.  My employer requires that I work every 3rd weekend, (though I’d rather work every other).  It’s what makes us have to wait for the stars to align for these weekends.

I got him up early this morning and dragged him to the 9 News Health Fair.  If you live in metro Colorado, GO!  You have only until next weekend.  It’s a fantastic organization for whom I volunteered 2 yrs ago and loved doing it.  I hope to try to volunteer again next year.  It’s many kinds of free or dirt cheap health screenings:  hearing and vision tests, skin cancer checks, pulmonary function tests….it’s a huge list.  Free.  It’s the most successful community health program I’ve ever seen.  Talk to a physician specializing in skin cancers for free.  Ask a nurse your weirdest health questions.  Ask a pharmacist to review your (or more likely, make them review your mother’s) medications and explain what the drugs do.

I made Mark go get our blood drawn before he’d had any of his sugary thin-can energy drinks.  Which is me, without coffee.  I brought a can with us and handed it to him as soon as we both finished.  I promised him that if he endured my insistence that he do this for me, I’d make him a big skillet of tofu scramble and let him play computer games all morning long.  He was a very good patient.

source:  Vegetarian Times, southwest tofu scramble

vegan, -gluten

  • 1 medium red bell pepper, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1 small carrot, diced (about 1/2 cup)
  • 4 green onions, chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (about 1 tsp.)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. ground turmeric
  • 1 14-oz. pkg. medium tofu, drained and crumbled
  • 1/2 tsp. hot sauce (I do not buy hot sauce anymore due to Mark’s tender tastebuds.  I used med. salsa instead.)
  • 2 Tbs. chopped cilantro (I skipped this for his benefit, too.)
  • salsa, for garnish

Heat large nonstick skillet over medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Add bell pepper and carrot, and cook 7 minutes, or until just tender. Stir in green onions, garlic, cumin and turmeric, and cook 1 minute more. Add tofu and hot sauce, and cook 5 minutes, or until heated through and all liquid has cooked off. Stir in cilantro, and serve with salsa.

I found this a little too mild for me.  But then, I love hotter spicier things.  Mark said, “It’s kinda heavy on the red peppers.”  Next time, for him, I may add a portobello.  It was still good, and it made me miss my roadtrips.  Must remedy that.

(To the right is Mark, playing Aion, observed by Bella, our Himalayan-Maine Coon mix.  The cats love days home with the taller humans.  Ben, the tabby, is not pictured as he is sprawling in a sunny spot on the floor.)

Comments
  1. Road trips! 🙂

    Sounds like a great event. I would like to try this recipe. I love eating tofu out but everytime I buy it, it sits in the fridge b/c I don’t know what to do with it. Also, I am the only one in the family who likes tofu….

    • msmsh42 says:

      Road trips! 😀
      I’ve got another tofu recipe I wanna try this week….cajun-fried cutlets. I don’t eat cajun anything, so this, too, is an experiment. I find we’re eating less tofu lately, but going through a lot more tempeh. I think of my two soy-solid choices, tempeh is much more flexible, and carries its own flavor.

  2. […] Southwestern Tofu Scramble posted by my vegetarian friend Meisha over at Beets & Petite Syrah (original source: Vegetarian Times) […]

Leave a Reply

