Peanut pasta salad with fried tempeh bits

Posted: April 5, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

Source:  Skinny Bitch, by Kim Barnouin

vegan, -gluten

I love, love, love this dish.  I’d never discovered brown rice pasta, and it is now my favorite.  I don’t need to eat gluten free, but brown rice pasta is filling, nutty, and doesn’t leave me feeling like I ate a pillow.  I can whip this out in about a half hour.  It feeds Mark and me for dinner, and then yay!  Lunch for me the next day.  Love this.  Did I say that?

  • 4 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 block tempeh, crumbled
  • 1 large carrot, julienned
  • 3 c broccoli florets, chopped bite-size
  • 1 bell pepper, julienned
  • 1 pckg brown rice pasta spirals (or regular pasta if you want)
  • 3 tbsp organic peanut butter (don’t go with Jif.  Really.  Texture’s different, and the organic stuff is better)
  • 1/4 c water
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce (I use my tamari)
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar (I suppose honey would work, but haven’t tried it.  I like agave.)
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • sesame seeds, for garnish (which I always forget)

Heat 3 tbsp of the oil in a skillet over high heat.  Fry the tempeh until slightly crispy, about 10 minutes, stirring occasionaly.  Bring lg pot of water to a boil.  Blanch the veggies until they are bright in color.  Drain, rinse and set aside.  Cook the pasta until al dente.  Drain, set aside.  In a small bowl, whisk the pb, remaining sesame oil, water, soy, agave, vinegar and ginger.  Toss everything together, garnish with sesame seeds.

Snarf snarf snarf!

Leave a Reply

