Broccoli polenta

Posted: April 1, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

Source:  Veganomicon, Moskowitz and Romero

vegan, -gluten

Polenta is the easiest thing in the world to make.  I’m not sure why many cookbooks have complicated directions for it.  I use plain old cornmeal more than any of my grains and flours (and I have a ton, cos I got into Flatbreads Around The World there for awhile….)  I like this spin on polenta, and I plan to make it with M&R’s Braised Seitan with Brussels (recipe to follow).

  • 3 1/2 c veggie broth or water (I used water)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c polenta corn grits (I used plain old cornmeal.  I don’t care about the texture difference, if there even is one)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 c very well-chopped broccoli, stalks and all

Bring water and salt to boil in med saucepan.  Add polenta in a slow, steady stream, whisking as you pour.  Add broccoli and oil, lower heat.  Cover and let simmer for 15 minutes, stirring often.  Turn off heat, let sit for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  I confess I didn’t take all this time to cook it.  I’m going to put it into a muffin pan and broil it.  It’ll cook.
Moskowitz & Romero give you three ‘molding methods’ and two cooking methods.  I chose to spoon the mix into a muffin pan to let cool.  (They say in the fridge for an hour.)  You can pan fry the polenta, but I like the broiling idea:  Preheat broiler, grease a baking sheet with olive oil.  Place polenta slices on sheet and broil 3 to 4 inches away from flame, for about 7 minutes or until brown.  They suggest that with the muffin method, flip the muffin tin over to put “rough” sides of the polenta down. Above is my cooling polenta.

Comments
  1. […] polenta (broccoli version referred here)  …without the […]

Leave a Reply

