Braised seitan with brussles, spinach & sun-dried tomatoes

Posted: April 1, 2011 in vegan recipes
Tags:

source:  Veganomicon, Moskowitz & Romero

vegan, + gluten

I have a totally irrational and unfair bias against kale-eaters.  In my uninformed and bigoted brain, kale-eaters are somehow sub-hygienic.  This recipe calls for kale instead of spinach.  I can’t make myself cook it yet.  Maybe, in time, if I evolve, I may learn to eat kale.  Until then, I refuse.  (Hey, I am HAPPY to eat brussels sprouts.  I’m grown-up enough.)

  • 2 tbsp olive oil, plus more if needed
  • 6 shallots, sliced thinly
  • 2 cups seitan, sliced into bite-size (Moskowitz & Romero make their own seitan.  Seitan-making is another activity I unfairly associate with fake chocolate, granola, Captain & Tenille, and hairy legs.)  (I’m really, really sorry.)
  • 1/2 pound Brussles sprouts, quartered
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Several pinches ground black pepper
  • 1/2 c vegetable broth

1/4 c red wine (I didn’t use the cabernet I’m drinking for this….we have several bottles of cooking sherry Mark bought by accident…)

4 c chopped spinach (or kale, if you aren’t a greens bigot like me) (I added some beet greens, too, cos I had some)

Preheat lg pan over med-high heat.  Saute shallots and seitan in 2 tbsp olive oil until both are browned.  Add brussels sprouts, saute another 3 minutes or so, adding oil if needed.  Add garlic, herbs, s & p, saute for another minute.  Mix in tomatoes.

Add veggie broth and wine.  Once liquid is boiling, add spinach.  Stir in the greens until wilted.  Cover pan, leaving room for steam to escape, then lower heat.  Simmer 5 to 7 more minutes.  Taste, adjust salt and serve over the rice, pasta, or the broccoli polenta from previous recipe.

Gotta say, the broccoli polenta underwhelmed me.  I love broccoli, I love polenta….together it seemed like broccoli cake.  Some things should be eaten as they are.

However, the seitan and veggies are deLICIous.  Incredibly flavorful.  I don’t eat seitan often, but it does feel like I’m eating meat.  It’s a very weird thing for me.  I imagine it would be easy to put meat in this dish instead if you were so inclined and needed to not have gluten.  Chicken, maybe?  Beef? Dunno.

I know it was really good when Mark took a single bite and his eyes lit up and he said, “This is really GOOD, honey!”  Yummy stuff.

This was good for leftovers for a few days, too.

Comments
  1. Sounds yummy. You should really try kale!!! 🙂

    Love your sense of humor, as always.

Leave a Reply

