Quinoa-stuffed Poblano Peppers with Tomatillo Sauce

Posted: March 26, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags:

I’m happy to live in Colorado, where ‘Mexican food’ is simply ‘food’.  I get fresh tomatillos from my plain ol grocery store.

source:  Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook by Kim Barnouin

vegan, -gluten

  • 4 poblano peppers
  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1/4 c onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 c corn, fresh or frozen
  • 1/2 c portobello shrooms, cubed
  • 1/2 c quinoa, cooked
  • 1/2 c tofu, cubed
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • 10 medium tomatillos, husks removed
  • 1/4 c lime juice
  • 2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

Preheat oven to broil.  Line a cookie sheet with foil and place poblano peppers on sheet.  Broil, turning a few times with tongs until skins are blackened, but ‘flesh’ is soft.  Remove from broiler, let steam for 20 mins in a plastic bag.  Cool, and when able to handle, remove skins, halve the peppers and remove stems & seeds.  Set aside.

In a frying pan, heat grapeseed oil over med heat.  Add onion and half the garlic, saute 1 min.  Add corn, shrooms, and quinoa, cook for 5 mins.  Add tofu, salt & pepper to taste.  Remove from heat.

Remove tomatillo husks, rinse the sticky stuff off, and place in baking dish.  Broil, turning over halfway through cooking (7 to 10 mins) until soft and slightly charred.  Remove from broiler and set aside.

Change oven heat to 350.  Prepare sauce by combining tomatillos, the rest of the garlic, lime juice, cilantro, avo, jalapeno, olive oil and pinch salt in a blender (or food processor).  Blend until smooth.

Stuff each poblano with the quinoa filling.  Place in lg baking dish and bake 15 to 20 mins.  Serve with the sauce.

The salsa is bright and Lick the Spoon good.  My poblanos came out more like slabs than cups.  Very flavorful meal, and I love peppers.  (Mark is less excited by peppers than me, but he said it was good.)  Next time, I’m going to try bell peppers, which, when I’ve tried roasting them before, have more structure.  Alternately, I will only lightly scorch the poblanos, leave the skin and see if they stay three-dimensional.

p.s.  I made the decision, on this blog, to use my own completely unprofessional photos of my own, totally unprofessional food.  Because you can get professional photos of food everywhere else on the internet.  And this is my kitchen.  If my food is floppy, well, then, so be it.

p.p.s.  I’m on another syrah kick.  (Not sure I really ever got tired of it.)  This one I’m drinking is nice….2008 Boom Boom!  Nice fruit, smoky, chewy (I know that’s a wine word, and on some wines I taste why, even if I can’t explain it well).  Not necessarily a wine for poblano peppers, but who cares?  Not I.

Comments
  1. Sounds amazing! I am not a big cook, but you are really inspiring me to try (or at least ask Mario to make it)!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

