Meet Rachel. And Elizabeth.

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:


Rachel the Kitchenaid food proccessor moved in, thanks to my state tax refund.  Thank you, Colorado, for returning my money to me.

Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero, in Veganomicon, say this of food processors:

“You can do without, but when you are staring at the latkes recipe with a tear in your eye, wondering how in the world you will fit shredding five pounds of potatoes into your busy day of video games and knitting circles, you need to get yourself a food processor.  If you can’t afford one right now, then get married simply so you can put this on your wedding registry.”

Spooky.  It’s like they know me.

Since you’re meeting Rachel, allow me to also introduce you to Elizabeth, my Bernina Aurora 440 with Bernina Stitch Regulator(TM).  She was a generous gift from my folks a few years ago.  She has her own room in this house, with all of her toys:

Not all of my household appliances have names.  Only Rachel and Elizabeth.  (Well, my car’s name is Sam, but he lives outside.)  Lest you mock, I’ll tell you that Elizabeth is worth more than my car.  And might be equal to the rest of the electronic equipment in the house combined (including the new flatscreen tv).  Elizabeth is a Swiss-made fine instrument, a thing of beauty.  When I sew with her, I have the feeling I’m asking Deep Thought to add 4 + 4.  It is humbling.

Rachel is American-made, and she has all these sharp attatchments I have no idea how to use.  Today will be our maiden experiment where we mush up potatoes!  Hey, it’s all new to me.  Be nice.

Speaking of Veganomicon, I’m cooking up a storm today because I’ll be working a 4 day stretch starting tomorrow.  So I’m planning on meals for the next few days for me and Mr. Man.  So, though I’m goin out for Mexican with one of my gfs, I’m making two new recipes:  Samosa Stuffed Baked Potatoes and Roasted Yellow Pepper and Corn Bisque.  Of course, I’ll be posting recipes.

/m

p.s.  No reason I can think of why I choose good, strong Jewish names.  No good, strong Vietnamese or Russian names came to mind.

Comments
  1. Hey there, I love this blog! And I love that you are cooking with wine (whether or not it makes it into the food….) 🙂

  2. msmsh42 says:

    Thanks honey! You’re my blog role model. 😀
    /m

Leave a Reply

