Thai-style Butternut Squash

Posted: March 20, 2011 in gluten-free recipes, vegan recipes
Tags: ,

Thai-style Butternut Squash

source:  How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, Mark Bittman

vegan, -gluten

  • 1 butternut squash, peeled and cut into bite-size pieces
  • 3tbs peanut or neutral oil I used sesame
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic I used about 5 cloves, because it’s hard to have too much garlic
  • 1 tbsp fresh minced ginger
  • 2 tbps peanut butter I used crunchy Earth Balance pb
  • 1 minced fresh chile, I used 1/2 jalapeno because Mark doesn’t like spicy (and yes, I’m working on that)
  • 1 cup coconut milk I used light
  • cilantro, for garnish
  • lime juice, a splash
  • salt & pepper

Put oil, garlic, ginger and pepper in lg skillet with lid.  When garlic/ginseng begins to color, add squash, coconut milk and peanut butter, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil, cover, turn heat to low.  Cook, stirring a few times (so milk doesn’t burn), until squash is tender, about 15 minutes.  Add the splash of lime at the last minute, just to mix…will curdle a little of the milk, so blend quickly.

Uncover pan and raise heat to medium-high, until squash browns, 5 to 10 minutes.  Turn heat back down until squash is browned and crisp. 

I didn’t actually take this latter step, fearful that the coconut milk would burn.  Bittman’s main recipe utilizes broth instead of coconut milk. I served this meal with brown basmati rice, because my local grocery store doesn’t have the sticky rice recommended for this squash variation.  Mighty tasty.


Comments
  1. Lisa says:

    Guess what I decided to grow in my garden this year? Butternut squash! I’m going to have to figure out how to modify this recipe to be less, um, peanutty. And cocoanutty. Other than that, I’m all over it :).

  2. Lisa says:

    Slow and steady will definitely help with the spiciness. I had a very heat and probably spice-intolerant palate when I moved to Austin, but after 6 years, I have developed quite a bit and enjoy heat (still not a ton compared to some, but way more than I used to) and lots of complex spices.

  3. msmsh42 says:

    I’m gonna try butternut squash, too! Yeah, I’m thinkin the coconut could easily be replaced by a cream or half-and-half, or even plain 2%. The peanut can be left out altogether. Bittman had another option that was basically the same recipe, but used curry powder instead of the peanut butter. That might be a thing to try…

    Glad you’ve gotten more spicy! 😀
    /m

  4. Bex says:

    Yum! That looks awesome. Bittman is a god.

Leave a Reply

